لغة

استراليا

بناء الثقة بين الشرطة والمجتمعات

في التسعينيات، أدت التفاعلات الصعبة بين شرطة فيكتوريا وأفراد مجتمعات المهاجرين والسكان الأصليين ومجتمع المثليين والمتحولين جنسياً ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسية والشباب إلى حدوث توترات وشكاوَى متعلقة بالسلوكيات غير اللائقة من قبل قوات الشرطة. وبعد أن شارك موظفو الشرطة في برنامج للتدريب على حقوق الإنسان في عام 2006، بدأوا بفهم دورهم في إطار حقوق الإنسان. وتناقصت الشكاوَى ضد سلوك الشرطة وكذلك التوترات بين الشرطة والمجتمعات المحلية.

أصبحت الشرطة الآن أكثر وعياً بالاحتياجات والحساسيات الخاصة لمختلف الناس في مجتمعاتهم المحلية. فالعديد من المهاجرين الجدد، على سبيل المثال، يمضّون سنوات في مخيمات اللاجئين، أو يأتون من بلدان يُنظر فيها إلى موظفي تطبيق القانون على أنهم أداة اضطهاد، مما يجعلهم مترددين في التعامل مع الشرطة عند ظهور مشاكل.

australia-2

“التثقيف في مجال حقوق الإنسان الذي يرتبط مباشرة بتجربة الشرطة اليومية أدى إلى فهم أفضل وتغيير في السلوكيات، مما أدى في نهاية المطاف إلى قلق أقل عند التعامل مع المجتمع. “

لوك كورنيليوس، مساعد مفوض، شرطة فيكتوريا

“يؤكد مشروع حقوق الإنسان على أن حقوق الإنسان تتعلق باحترام الكرامة … كان من الواضح أن هذا التشريع سيدعم تجديد عمل الشرطة للتركيز على المجتمع بدلاً من عقلية “نحن وهم”.

ماسكيب موتالاليبولا سيجو، مدير سابق لوحدة حقوق الإنسان، شرطة فيكتوريا

australia-3

تغيير نحو الأفضل من خلال تدريب حقوق الإنسان

أدت التفاعلات الخطيرة بين شرطة فيكتوريا وأفراد مجتمعات المهاجرين والسكان الأصليين ومجتمع المثليات والمثليين ومزدوجي الميل الجنسي ومغايري الهوية الجنسية و الشباب (ولا سيما أولئك الذين يعانون من مشاكل المخدرات والكحول والذين صدرت بحقهم أحكام إدانة سابقة) إلى توترات وعدم ثقة وشكاوَى رسمية ضد شرطة فيكتوريا.

في عام 2006، أنشأت شرطة فيكتوريا مشروع حقوق الإنسان بدعم من الحكومة وبالتعاون مع خبراء حقوق الإنسان وقطاع الجامعات. وركز هذا المشروع على زيادة وعي ومعرفة الشرطة بالقانون الدولي لحقوق الإنسان والمعايير المتعلقة بالتحقيقات والاعتقال والحبس واستخدام القوة والأسلحة النارية ومساعدة الضحايا.

وفي إطار المشروع، تلقى جميع الموظفين البالغ عددهم 000 14 موظف في شرطة فيكتوريا – من العمال الإداريين إلى مفوضي الشرطة و خبراء الطب الشرعي والمحققين والمحامين – التعليم والتدريب لتمكينهم من تطبيق مبادئ حقوق الإنسان عمليًا في ممارساتهم اليومية في مجال الشرطة.

وركز مشروع حقوق الإنسان أيضًا على زيادة الوعي بالمعايير الدولية لحقوق الإنسان في سياق التفاعلات المجتمعية، بما في ذلك تفاعل الشرطة مع الشباب والأقليات الجنسية والجنسانية، فضلاً عن المجتمعات المتعددة الثقافات والسكان الأصليين.

اعتباراً من عام 2012، انخفضت الشكاوى المتعلقة بسلوك الشرطة بنسبة 30 في المائة.

شرطة للمجتمع بكامله

شكّل العدد الغير المتكافئ للمحتجزين من شباب الشعوب الأصلية مجالاً آخرَ مثيرًا للقلق نظرًا للافتقار إلى الثقة بين الشرطة ومجتمعات السكان الأصليين.

كما ساعد برنامج القيادة الشبابية الذي تديره شرطة فيكتوريا على سد الفجوة وتحسين العلاقات بين أفراد المجتمع الأصغر سنًا والشرطة.

في عام 2006، اعتُمد ميثاق فيكتوريا لحقوق الإنسان ومسؤولياته. وبمقتضى الميثاق، يجب على السلطات العامة، بما في ذلك شرطة فيكتوريا، أن تتصرف بطريقة تتفق مع حقوق الإنسان.

المادة 38 (1) سلوك السلطات العامة: … من غير القانوني أن تتصرف السلطة العامة بطريقة تتنافى مع حق من حقوق الإنسان، أو أن تتخذ قرارًا، مع عدم إيلاء الاعتبار الواجب لأي حق من حقوق الإنسان ذات الصلة. المادة 32 (2) يجوز النظر في القانون الدولي وأحكام المحاكم والهيئات القضائية المحلية والأجنبية والدولية ذات الصلة بأي حق من حقوق الإنسان في تفسير حكم قانوني.

تغییر الحیاة: قدرة التثقیف في مجال حقوق الإنسان

الطریق إلى الكرامة

من نحن؟

تواصل معنا هنا لمزید من المعلومات

شارك

© سوكا غاكاي الدولیة 2020. جمیع الحقوق محفوظة.  .سیاسة الخصوصیة

Australia

Building trust between police and communities

In the 1990s, difficult interactions between the Victoria Police and members of migrant and Indigenous communities, the LGBTI community and young people, resulted in tensions and complaints of inappropriate behavior by the police. After participating in a human rights training program in 2006, police staff began to understand their role within the framework of human rights. Complaints against police behavior and tensions between the police and the communities declined.

Police are now more conscious of the special needs and sensitivities of diverse people in their communities. Many new migrants, for example, may have spent years in refugee camps, or come from countries where law enforcement officials are seen as oppressors, making them reluctant to approach the police when issues arise.

australia-2

“Human rights education that directly related to everyday police experience led to better understanding and a change in behaviors, ultimately resulting in less angst when dealing with the community.”

Luke Cornelius APM, Assistant Commissioner, Victoria Police

“The Human Rights Project emphasizes that human rights are about respecting dignity … It was obvious that this legislation was going to support the regeneration of policing to focus on the community rather than an ‘us and them’ mentality. ”

Mmaskepe Motlalepula Sejoe, Former Human Rights Unit Manager, Victoria Police

australia-3

A CHANGE FOR THE BETTER THROUGH HUMAN RIGHTS TRAINING

Difficult interactions between the Victoria Police and members of migrant and Indigenous communities, the LGBTI community and with young people (particularly those with drug and alcohol problems and those with prior convictions), resulted in tensions, distrust and formal complaints against the Victoria Police.

In 2006, the Victoria Police, with support from the government and in collaboration with human rights experts and the university sector, established the Human Rights Project. This focused on increasing police awareness and knowledge of international human rights law and standards relating to investigations, arrest and custody, use of force and firearms, and victim assistance.

Under the Project, all 14,000 employees of the Victoria Police — from administrative workers to the chief commissioner, from forensic scientists to investigators and lawyers—received education and training to enable them to practically apply human rights principles in their everyday policing practices.

The Human Rights Project also focused on increasing awareness of international human rights standards in the context of community interactions, including police interaction with young people, sexual and gender minorities, as well as multicultural and Indigenous communities.

As of 2012, complaints relating to police behavior had declined by 30%.

POLICING FOR THE WHOLE COMMUNITY

A disproportionate number of Indigenous young people in detention was another area of concern given the lack of trust between police and the Indigenous communities.

A youth leadership program run by Victoria Police also helped bridge the gap and improve relations between younger community members and the police.

In 2006, the Victoria Charter on Human Rights and Responsibilities was adopted. Under the charter, public authorities, including the Victoria Police, must act in a manner consistent with human rights.

Section 38 (1) Conduct of public authorities: … it is unlawful for a public authority to act in a way that is incompatible with a human right or, in making a decision, to fail to give proper consideration to a relevant human right. Section 32 (2) International law and the judgments of domestic, foreign and international courts and tribunals relevant to a human right may be considered in interpreting a statutory provision.

Transforming Lives: The Power of Human Rights Education

A Path to Dignity

Who we are

For more information,
contact us here

SHARE

© Soka Gakkai International 2018. All Rights Reserved.  Privacy Policy